Do You Hear What I Hear? Then Respond!

One of my all-time favorite Christmas songs has to be “Do you hear What I Hear?” right up there with Holly Leaves & Christmas Trees by Elvis. Sitting and listening while our Kids choir sang their rendition, I felt as if I wanted shout it to the mountaintops! Not that I was feeling overwhelmed with Christmas joy, but it was the mere fact that I know someone, more than a few someone’s, I had sent a text to and had failed to get a response in over twenty-four hours.

I must admit, in times past I have not been the best at returning calls, e-mails, or text in a timely fashion. But I have tried to improve, and I believe I have. With today’s technology, is it really possible not to respond to a message in a timely manner unless otherwise just being rude? Be honest, there is voice text, for driving, reminders to hit, you can scan thru them while in your study (bathroom), if nothing else respond with “K” or “np” to let the other person know you received it. Respond, is it really that hard?

Like any leader, sometimes this seems like this can be the most difficult thing to ask of your followers. Why is that?

I can’t help to wonder if the Lord feels the same at times. Is He looking down just ready to scream, Respond! Do you hear me? Can you see what I am doing? Just respond! Jesus tells us more than once, that if we have ears, then use them. If we can hear or see what the Lord is doing, all He wants is for us is to respond. If there is going to be a good relationship, there has to be good communication. There has to be sending forth, receiving, and responding.

Rather you’re a leader, a follower, or maybe somewhere between, work on your response. Let your ears be open to hear, eyes open to see, and respond like never before. You might be shocked at what takes place. It’s called conversation.

Would love to hear more feedback or thoughts, feel free to comment.

Follow me here at Word Press & on Twitter @jeff7170

Leave a Reply

